Hotel Restaurant “GRAND CANYON DU VERDON”

 

An exceptional setting

On the D-71, at a place called “Falaises des Cavaliers”, between Comps and Aiguines, is the Hotel des Cavaliers or Hotel du Grand Canyon du Verdon. The Cavaliers site is already fascinating in itself. The Grand Canyon du Verdon has a characteristic narrowness at this level which no doubt suggested the following legend. Cliffs on the right bank and those on the left bank being so close. It is said that in the past, riders could jump from one bank to another with their mount.

Opposite, you can also see the Chalet de la Maline which you reach from the dizzying route des Crêtes on the right side.
It sometimes happens that the customers of one or the other hotel launch sugars and teaspoons from their respective terrace … or almost.

Perched at the edge of this cliff, the Logis de France Grand Canyon du Verdon hotel overlooks the emerald river bed 300 meters. A unique natural setting in the Verdon Regional Natural Park’s territory. The ideal place to disconnect from the urban environment.

 

A comfortable hotel-restaurant

14 rooms, a restaurant (we recommend the chef’s house foie gras) and a terrace with a breathtaking view. Guests can also enjoy a spacious bar. It is in this exceptional setting that Laurence and her team welcome you throughout the summer.

History of the place

Before 1950, when the D71 was built, there was only a modest hunter’s hut on the site of the hotel. Access was by foot via paths, crossing Canjuers. When the road was finished, a bar-restaurant was first built. Passers-by who indulged in the joys of car tourism came to treat themselves to a gourmet stopover during an excursion. This is how a certain Winston Churchill put his signature in the guest book in 1958.

The clientele and the fame being at the rendezvous, the hotel as it is now was built in the early 80s. Sportsmen like Marc Pajot and Sébastien Loeb came to admire the stars from the panoramic terrace, why not you ? From this hotel, the Imbut trail begins. The departure of the superb Aqua Trekking Day, the most beautiful activity in Verdon!

Hotel restaurant « GRAND CANYON DU VERDON »

Sur la D-71, au lieu dit « Falaises des Cavaliers », entre Comps et Aiguines, se trouve l’Hotel du Grand Canyon du Verdon https://www.hotel-canyon-verdon.com/. Le site des Cavaliers est déjà fascinant par lui-même. Le Grand Canyon du Verdon présente à ce niveau une étroiture caractéristique qui suggéra sans doute la légende suivante. Les falaises de la rive droite et celles de la rive gauche sont si proches, que jadis les cavaliers pouvaient sauter d’une rive à l’autre avec leur monture.

En face, on peut d’ailleurs voir le Chalet de la Maline que l’on atteint depuis la route des Crêtes en rive droite http://www.lapaludsurverdon.com/routecretes_verdon.html.
Il arrive parfois que les clients de l’un ou de l’autre hôtel se lancent sucres et petites cuillères depuis leur terrasse respective… ou presque.

Perché au bord de cette falaise, l’hôtel Logis de France Grand Canyon du Verdon surplombe de 300 mètres le lit de la rivière émeraude. Un cadre naturel unique dans le Parc Naturel Régional du Verdon http://parcduverdon.fr/, l’endroit idéal pour déconnecter du milieu urbain.
14 chambres, un restaurant (nous vous recommandons le foie gras maison du chef), une terrasse avec une vue imprenable, un bar et un salon spacieux sont à la disposition des clients. C’est dans ce cadre exceptionnel que Laurence et son équipe vous accueille tout au long de la belle saison.

Avant 1950, date de construction de la D71, il n’existait à l’emplacement de l’hôtel qu’une modeste cabane de chasseurs dont l’accès se faisait à pied par des chemins, en traversant Canjuers. Une fois la route terminée, on construisit d’abord un bar-restaurant ou les passants qui s’adonnaient aux joies du tourisme automobile venaient s’offrir une halte gourmande en pleine excursion. C’est ainsi qu’un certain Winston Churchill apposa sa signature dans le livre d’or en 1958.

La clientèle et la renommée étant au rendez-vous, l’hôtel tel qu’il est à présent fut construit au début des années 80. Des sportifs comme Marc Pajot et Sébastien Loeb sont venus admirer les étoiles depuis la terrasse panoramique, pourquoi pas vous? Au départ de cet hôtel, commence le sentier de l’Imbut ou VERDON XP & The Funny Helmets vous fera découvrir l’Aqua Trekking Journée, la plus belle activité du Verdon! https://vimeo.com/213201305